SF: Kaly Interview

The following is an extract of my article for Sampleface:

“One of the most decorated characters we’ve come across in recent times, US-native Kaly (who isn’t actually from Cali, by the way) is beginning to build up a reputation of speaking his mind via the interwebz. The NJ by-way-of Philly rapper spoke to Sampleface in March about his beginnings, his future, Twitter and everything in between.

Note: Kaly’s answers are written in American-English. The Z’s and lack of U’s are jarring as fuck, but we’ve left them in for authenticity. Word to you, bruh.

Sampleface: Let’s dance! Kaly, introduce yourself…

Kaly: Kaly. That’s my first and last name.

SF: Kaly Kaly. I like it. How did you get into music?

K: When I was younger, I used to watch a bit of Bollywood cinema here and there, and it got me thinking about how to approach women.  As a big-rimmed-glasses-wearing- bowl-cut-having Indian kid, I needed all the help I could get. I figured writing poetry, like I saw in the movies, would be my in. Needless to say, it didn’t quite work how I expected haha. Eventually, I started setting that poetry to music and realized I was pretty good at it.

SF: Big-rimmed-glasses-wearing-bowl-cut-having Indian kid. You got a picture of this or nah?

K: Fuck outta here.

SF: What’s the rap scene like around you, right now?

K: If you’re speaking about the South Asian rap scene, in America, I would say it’s non-existent. There’s definitely a lot of guys calling themselves rappers, not really putting in the work to be worthy of that title. Everyone goes for self out here, there isn’t really any camaraderie or outlet for our artistry like you see in the UK/Canada, so I can’t say there is much of a scene really. As far as the regular rap scene, it’s cool I suppose, a lot of “how did that get on the radio?” all the time. The game has definitely changed, to where before you needed talent to rock, that’s not so much the case nowadays.

SF: That’s interesting, definitely with you on the airwave questionability. What musicians ARE you feeling currently?

K: I find myself listening to a lot of Nipsey Hussle, and that new Rick Ross album, too. Nothing crazy on my end, but definitely Nipsey if we’re talking up-and-coming artists.”

Read the article in full, here: http://sampleface.co.uk/interview-kaly/

Leave a Reply

